2018 NWT Sport Hall of Fame Inductees Announced.

Publication date: 
October 17th, 2018

Sport North is excited to announce that there will be three new inductees into the NWT Sport Hall of Fame in 2018, one in each category; Athlete, Builder and Team. 

Robin Mercer-Sproule will be inducted as an Athlete, Abe Thiel as a Builder, and the Fort McPherson 1970 Centennial Canoe Team (Captain Phillip Blake, Woody Elias, Fred Vittrekwa, Joe Vittrekwa, John Itsi and Joseph Kaye). 

The NWT Sport Hall of Fame was created to celebrate NWT athletes and sport builders who attained a high level of excellence and brought recognition and honour to the Northwest Territories. 

Through the NWT Sport Hall of Fame, Sport North recognizes and shares the sport stories of the territories’ great athletes, builders and teams. Their stories will be celebrated and showcased to continue to inspire NWT youth to live healthy active lives and set their goals high.

It is through the recognition and promotion of sport that we can demonstrate the great achievements of our outstanding sport contributors of the Northwest Territories and will be able to communicate these great stories for years to come.

The 2018 Induction Ceremony will take place on Friday, November 23, 2018 at the Explorer Hotel.  Tickets can be purchased online, here or by visiting the Sport North website at, www.sportnorth.com.


For more information contact:

Kendra Wambold

Marketing & Communications Officer




*Edit: The location of the 2018 NWT Sport Hall of Fame has been moved to the Explorer Hotel.