Additions to Our Sport History

Publication date: 
October 29th, 2015

Yellowknife, NT (October 29, 2015) – Twenty-five (25) outstanding sport leaders will receive the NWT Sport community’s highest honour on November 20, 2015, when they are inducted into the NWT Sport Hall of Fame.

This year’s inductees include a pioneer for Arctic Sports in the Northwest Territories, a team of sport enthusiasts that sought out the creation of the Sport North Federation and the 1979 fastball team that made it to the Canadian Championship finals.

We are pleased to welcome our newest class of sport legends and recognize their commitment to sport in the NWT:

Meika McDonald | Athlete
Dennis Crane | Builder
Peggy Curtis | Builder
Roland Gosselin | Builder
David Hurley | Builder
Jim France | Builder
Glen Alexander | Team
Scott Alexander | Team
Craig Bentley | Team
Doug Bothamley | Team
Kevin Daniels | Team
Len Dies | Team
John Ewasyke | Team
Joker Gaida | Team
Paul Gard | Team
Brent Hinchey | Team
David Inch | Team
Randy Maksymowich | Team
Dennis Milligan | Team
Adam Pich | Team
Randy Rechner | Team
Rod Stirling | Team
Kelly Tyacke | Team
Andy Tereposky | Team
Sigmund Undheim | Team
John Waniandy | Team
The NWT Sport Hall of Fame is administered by the Sport North Federation. Nominations are received annually across the territory, with the final selection made by the NWT Sport Hall of Fame Selection Committee.
These twenty-five icons will be enshrined among other great legends of the NWT Sport Community at the 2015 NWT Sport Hall of Fame on November 20, 2015 at the Yellowknife Elks Lodge #314.
For attendance, sponsorship and general information on the Sport North NWT Sport Hall of Fame contact:

Melanie Kornacki
(867) 669-8378