Sport North Annual Awards

In 1977, the first awards were presented for the Contributor to Sport.  Additional awards were added in years following: 1978 -  Athlete of the Year, 1980 - Team of the Year, 1989 - Coach of the Year, 1992 - Junior Athlete of the Year, 1994 - Official of the Year, 2001 - Youth Male and Female Athlete of the Year and the Corporate Contributor to Sport and 2009 - Community Volunteer Award.  You can check out the previous recipients below by searching name and Award.  These awards are presented to recognize the significant contributions of individuals who are active in sport in the Northwest Territories.  The awards are given in recognition of achievements and accomplishments during the past year.

The Sport North Awards are given out each year to recognize athletes, coaches, officials and volunteers for their performance and contribution to sport in the NWT.  The awards play a valuable role in supporting athlete success and recognizing the NWT's growing talent.  The nomination process has two submission dates. 

  • Part A asks for basic information about the person being nominated.
  • Part B requests detailed information about their sporting accomplishments, deadline for nomination is April 15th.

The 2018 Annual Sport North Awards Banquet took place on May 26, 2018 at the Explorer Hotel.

5 athletes, 1 team, 1 coach, 1 official, 1 business and 2 volunteers were recognized for their hard work, dedication and commitment to sport. Congratulations to each of the winners as well as the nominees for each category. Sport North would also like to thank each of our Award Committee members for their time and passion in selecting the winners of each category.

Youth Female Athlete of the Year
Tanisha Steinwand – Soccer

Youth Male Athlete of the Year
Luke Dizon – Athletics  

Junior Female Athlete of the Year
Deanne Whenham – Golf 

Junior Male Athlete of the Year
Wilson Elliot – Judo

Senior Male Athlete of the Year
Viktor Terlaky – Swimming

Coach of the Year
Jane Mooney - Swimming 

Dennis Crane Memorial Official of the Year
Nick Rivet - Soccer

Delma Kisoun Memorial Community Contributor
Steve Matthews - Snowboarding

Corporate Contributor
Carl’s Carpet Cleaning

Ruth Inch Memorial Contributor to Sport
Rachel Yee - Swimming

Team of the Year
2018 AWG Junior Female Futsal Team

Supported by