Sport North Annual Awards

In 1977, the first awards were presented for the Contributor to Sport.  Additional awards were added in years following: 1978 -  Athlete of the Year, 1980 - Team of the Year, 1989 - Coach of the Year, 1992 - Junior Athlete of the Year, 1994 - Official of the Year, 2001 - Youth Male and Female Athlete of the Year and the Corporate Contributor to Sport and 2009 - Community Volunteer Award.  You can check out the previous recipients below by searching name and Award.  These awards are presented to recognize the significant contributions of individuals who are active in sport in the Northwest Territories.  The awards are given in recognition of achievements and accomplishments during the past year.

The Sport North Awards are given out each year to recognize athletes, coaches, officials and volunteers for their performance and contribution to sport in the NWT.  The awards play a valuable role in supporting athlete success and recognizing the NWT's growing talent.  The nomination process has two submission dates. 

  • Part A asks for basic information about the person being nominated, deadline for this part is April 1st.
  • Part B requests detailed information about their sporting accomplishments, deadline for nomination is April 15th.

The 2019 Sport North Awards Banquet

WHERE: Explorer Hotel

WHEN: Saturday, May 25

TIME: Doors @ 5pm

           Dinner @ 6pm

           Awards @ 8pm


Supported by